[Review] HOBBY JAPAN 1/144 HG SEED CUSTOM KIT GRAND SLAM

grand slam banner2

Here’s a brief look at the XM404 “Grand Slam” Anti-ship sword that came with the 1/144 HG SEED Custom Kit from Hobby Japan’s April 2012 issue.

 

IMG_0890

starring the RG Strike

IMG_0891

IMG_0892

IMG_0893

On a side note, I actually tried to resin cast the Grand Slam for a future project… and being my first time resin casting, you can guess how well it went… The original blade reacted badly with the Sculpey clay that I was using, and melted off most of its surface. I tried to salvage it as best I could, but the aftermath was very…sticky. On the plus side, it’s got a unique battle damaged look to it.

IMG_0896

IMG_0898

IMG_0899

What happened to the Grand Slam was unfortunate, but good thing I have two of them!

IMG_0905

As if the original Grand Slam wasn’t epic enough, you can combine two of them to… make it twice as big? The design is ridiculous, but who cares, it looks freaking awesome.

THOUGHTS

That was an extremely brief review because I have something special reserved for this kit that I’d like to show off later on. I bought this kit for the Grand Slam, as it is the only Grand Slam that you can get in 1/144 scale. IMO, that’s probably the only reason why you’d go out of your way to get this thing. It’s very pricey when you factor in the shipping costs, so it’s not really worth it unless you’re obsessed with the Strike like I am. Regardless, this is a very good kit to have if you’re looking for custom joints that can be used on out other HG 1/144 scale kits to improve some god-awful articulation. Somehow HobbyLink Japan still hasn’t discontinued these, (at the time of writing these anyway) so you could definitely give this kit a shot if you’re interested in the Grand Slam. However, if you don’t care much about the custom joints, I suggest you hold off on that purchase and look elsewhere. Where, you might ask? Stay tuned for an update to this post!

TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a comment